EU bans imports from Crimea

EU bans imports from Crimea

Tue Jun 24, 2014 5:32AM GMT

The European Union (EU) member states have agreed to ban imports from Crimea as part of the bloc’s policy of non-recognition of the territory’s move to join Russia.

The EU Council of Ministers said in a press release on Monday that “as of June 25, goods originating in Crimea and Sevastopol may no longer be imported into the European Union.”

“In addition, it will be prohibited to provide financial and insurance services related to the import of such goods,” the statement added.

In response, Vitaly Nakhlupin, who heads the Crimean government’s economic commission, said that the EU ban would not greatly affect Crimea, as “most of our exports were to Russia; now this is no longer export but domestic operations.”

The decision to ban imports from Crimea came in a meeting of the foreign ministers of EU member states in Luxembourg, where they were also to discuss the possibility of imposing further sanctions on Russia over the crisis in Ukraine.

Ahead of the meeting, British Foreign Secretary William Hague claimed the EU was are ready to impose more punitive measures against Russia.

The EU has imposed a number of sanctions against Russian, Crimean and other pro-Russia figures following Crimea’s decision to join the Russian Federation in March.

The latest round of the sanctions were imposed on May 12, when EU foreign ministers added 13 more Russian and Crimean individuals as well as 2 Crimean companies to Brussels’ sanctions list, which already consisted of 48 individuals.

Leave a Reply